© 2021 KSUT Public Radio
NPR News and Music Discovery for the Four Corners
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

The Jesus And Mary Chain Returns With New Album, Shares First Single

The Jesus And Mary Chain
The Jesus And Mary Chain

The Jesus And Mary Chain will release a new album next March, nearly 20 years after the band's last full-length release, 1998's Munki. The new album is called Damage And Joy, and our first taste of it is the grimly-titled but relatively poppy single, "Amputation."

Members of The Jesus And Mary Chain say they decided to work together on a new album after spending part of 2015 touring for the 30th anniversary of the band's debut release (and one of the great rock albums of all time), Psychocandy.

"We started to — can you believe? — listen to each other a bit more," says singer and guitarist Jim Reid in the band's announcement of Damage And Joy. "In the last couple of years, we've buried the hatchet to some degree, and thankfully not into each other. Most people who know us would say that we haven't mellowed that much. I think it was to do with the fact, dare I say it, that wisdom comes with age. Let's live and let live, and let's take each other's opinions into account."

Damage And Joy is due out March 24 on ADA/Warner. The album's tracklist is as follows:

  • "Amputation"
  • "War On Peace"
  • "All Things Pass"
  • "Always Sad"
  • "Song For A Secret"
  • "The Two Of Us"
  • "Los Feliz (Blues and Greens)"
  • "Mood Rider"
  • "Presidici (Et Chapaquiditch)"
  • "Get On Home"
  • "Facing Up To The Facts"
  • "Simian Split"
  • "Black And Blues"
  • "Can't Stop The Rock"
  • Copyright 2021 NPR. To see more, visit https://www.npr.org.