© 2022 KSUT Public Radio
NPR News and Music Discovery for the Four Corners
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

There's A Brand New David Bowie Song

David Bowie's 30th studio album, <em>The Next Day, </em>will come out on March 12.
David Bowie's 30th studio album, <em>The Next Day, </em>will come out on March 12.

It's so so good to hear him sing again. This morning we wake up to a new song from David Bowie called "Where Are We Now?" The song will appear on a new studio album, Bowie's 30th, called The Next Day. The album comes out in March, but the song is available now from iTunes, and there's a video for the song, along with a revamped website; all this happens as David Bowie turns 66 today.

The song and video both look back to the British musician's days in Berlin in the late 1970s, days when the Iron Curtain was still firmly in place and Bowie lived above a car repair shop for a time. Those days he created some of his most memorable work, records like The Idiot and Lust for Life with Iggy Pop and the brilliant trilogy of albums with Brian Eno, Low, Heroes and Lodger.

The Next Day was produced by Tony Visconti, who began working with Bowie in the late 1960s, beginning with the album Space Oddity. Visconti also worked on Bowie's last album, Reality.

The video is filled with stark imagery from those Berlin days and includes Bowie looking back asking the question, "Where are we now?" and repeating the refrain, "The moment you know, you know, you know."

Here's a track listing for the standard edition of the album. A deluxe edition will contain 3 more songs.

1. The Next Day
2. Dirty Boys
3. The Stars (Are Out Tonight)
4. Love Is Lost
5. Where Are We Now?
6. Valentine's Day
7. If You Can See Me
8. I'd Rather Be High
9. Boss of Me
10. Dancing Out in Space
11. How Does the Grass Grow?
12. (You Will) Set the World On Fire
13. You Feel So Lonely You Could Die
14. Heat

Copyright 2021 NPR. To see more, visit https://www.npr.org.

Related Stories