© 2022 KSUT Public Radio
NPR News and Music Discovery for the Four Corners
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

First Watch: The Return Of Mercury Prize Finalist Villagers

Villagers is the music of Conor O'Brien, a 2010 Mercury Prize finalist for his debut album, Becoming a Jackal. Now there's new music from Villagers, from a record called {Awayland}. That music comes out first in Europe on Jan. 14 — here in the U.S., we'll have to wait until April 9. We have this new song and video from Villagers, for the song "Nothing Arrived."

Conor O'Brien writes:

"Nothing Arrived" is our jangly tribute to the great lottery of life. This is a video of us playing it in Attica Audio, where we recorded the album. Attica is our guitarist Tommy's [McLaughlin] studio in county Donegal, up in the north of Ireland. It's a pretty special place for us."

According to Domino Records, the label that will put out {Awayland}, a few special things are planned for the album's release:

There will also be a special limited 10" x 10" fabric cover hardback book with silver foil print, containing the album on CD with an exclusive DVD featuring five live performances by Villagers recorded in their studio in Donegal, Ireland. The special edition will be signed and limited to 500 worldwide.

Here's the track listing:

1. My Lighthouse
2. Earthly Pleasure
3. The Waves
4. Judgement Call
5. Nothing Arrived
6. The Bell
7. {Awayland}
8. Passing a Message
9. Grateful Song
10. In a Newfound Land You Are Free
11. Rhythm Composer

Copyright 2021 NPR. To see more, visit https://www.npr.org.