© 2021 KSUT Public Radio
NPR News and Music Discovery for the Four Corners
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

From World Cafe Live, Spiritualized In Concert


Spiritualized, a neo-psychedelic outfit with Jason Pierce (a.k.a. J. Spaceman) at its center, formed out of the ashes of Pierce's previous group, Spaceman 3. The newer band's seven albums of panoramic space-rock are deeply influenced by soul, gospel and all things Velvet Underground. Following a dramatic initial release in 1990, Spiritualized has since undergone numerous lineup changes, evolved its sound to encompass everything from shoegazer pop to blues-rock, and pushed the boundaries of live performance. Pierce shot a video on an erupting volcano, performed 114 stories in the air, and shared a stage with Depeche Mode.

Sweet Heart Sweet Light is Spiritualized's new album, forged over the course of three years and one near-death experience. Crisp and invigorating, its deft combination of rock 'n' roll and gospel is rendered all the more poignant by Pierce's experience with chemotherapy while mixing Sweet Heart Sweet Light. Spiritualized opens this show — recorded live on May 25 at Philadelphia's World Cafe Live — with his new single "Hey Jane." On stage, the energy never wanes, right up through the noisy blast that closes "Come Together."

Set List

  • "Hey Jane"
  • "Mary"
  • "Lord Let It Rain On Me"
  • "I Am What I Am"
  • "Come Together"
  • Copyright 2021 NPR. To see more, visit https://www.npr.org.